Theatre of Ted to test marathon skills

Theatre of Ted will host its annual Four-Square Marathon beginning at 5 p.m. Thursday in the plaza north of Centennial West.

Participating students will attempt to play for three days straight, through rain or shine.

Students and faculty are encouraged to help by joining in on the game for a while, making a donation, or pledging a certain amount based on how many hours the marathon will continue or how long a player will stay in the game.

Money raised during the marathon goes towards the Annual Theatre of Ted: Dare to Suck Scholarship, which is awarded to one or more students who submit a performance, essay or other piece of art which shows originality.

“The really special thing about the Ted scholarship is that it rewards creativity and bravery, which are so important not only to the artistic world but to the world in general,” Katherine Rohrscheib, vice president of Theatre of Ted and winner of last year’s scholarship, said.

The participation and support of students has ensured that this scholarship can continue providing aid for students with these traits which are so valued, both in the theatre department and outside of ISU.

Over $25,000 has been raised since the marathon first began in 2000. This year, the RSO hopes to raise $1,000 more.

Area businesses have donated food for players to stay nourished and stay in the game, as well as a variety of prizes which will be raffled off.

Food, support of fellow students and staff and their own competitive spirits are what the group will cling to in order to make it through the three day tournament.

“Each year the marathon tries to break a record for Most Hours of Four-Square Played. Last year we broke 72  hours and it was great. Students were very proud of the bragging rights they now had,” Rohrscheib said.

Online donations and pledge forms are available at FineArts.IllinoisState.Edu/Support/Square/. Students can also contact Pete Guither to make a contribution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *