Illinois State Track and Field junior Kimathi Johnson clocked a personal best at the Mike Fanelli track classic at Stanford March 29-30.

Illinois State University track and field won their third-straight Missouri Valley Conference Indoor Championship on Sunday with 190.16 total points.

Day One was led by ISU’s seniors. Charde Golliday won the long jump (5.92 meters), Grace Beattie won the 5,000-meter (16:50.96) and Ariana Cranston won the pole vault (3.93 meters). Beattie and Golliday won their first MVC championships and Cranston won her second-straight indoor title and fourth-straight title in indoor and outdoor combined.

Three men, Eddie Winner, Jack Anstey and Jordan Wilkerson all took home the MVC championship.

Winner, who won the pole vault with a mark of 5.01 meters, tied with fellow Redbird senior Kellen Kravik.

The last win of Day One came from the women’s relay team of senior Annie Moore, sophomore Audrey Harrod, senior Hattie Plumb and sophomore Rachel Hickey (11:45.99).

Senior Jordyn Bruce placed second in the pentathlon but moved into the leading spot of the school record for lifetime points at 3,849.

In track, Kevin Koski (5,000 m) received All-Valley recognition for his finish at 14:30.55. The men’s medley relay team of Johnson, Swartzendruber, Gillum and Anstey finished second (10:08.10) and also received All-Valley honors.

On the field, Kameesha Smith (long jump), Taylor Weaver (weight throw), Nicole Bagwell (pole vault), Kellen Kravik (pole vault) were All-Valley recipients.

At the end of Day One, the Illinois State women had 81.16 points and held a 30-point lead over second place. The men ended Saturday trailing Northern Iowa by half a point.

In one of the first events of Day Two, Golliday received All-Valley honors for her third-place finish in the triple jump (12.16).

Senior Jordan Wilkerson became the heptathlon champion and the school record-holder for points in heptathlon with 5,255 points. Sophomore Caleb Miedema’s mark of 5,231 points clinched All-Valley honors for him in the event.

Sophomore Rachel Hickey won the MVC championship in the women’s mile with a mark of 4:52.11. Sophomore Tori Ortiz placed second in the women’s 400-meter and took the seventh best time in ISU history along with All-Valley honors. Hattie Plumb won the 800-meter championship with a time of 2:09.80.

Jack Anstey won the men’s 800-meter championship with a time of 1:52.14.

Kimathi Johnson earned his second All-Valley appearance after a 4:21.30 time in the men’s mile. Freshman Brandon Ratliff became All-Valley after his third-place finish in the 60-meter hurdles (8.11 seconds).

More ISU All-Valley recipients were: Koski (men’s 3k, 8:30.82), Ortiz (women’s 200-meter, 24.80 seconds), Harrod (women’s 800-meter, personal best 2:12.21), freshman Grace Daun (1.70 meters in women’s high jump) and senior Tayler Weaver (15.05 meters in shot put).

Avenging last year’s second-place finish, Kameesha Smith won the high jump championship with a mark of 1.73 meters.

In total, the men would tie for second as a team with 112 points. ISU’s mark of 190.16 total points is an MVC record.

The NCAA Indoor Championships take place March 13 and 14.

MATT KALINOWSKI is a Sports Reporter for The Vidette. He can be contacted at Follow him on Twitter at @mattkalinowski8

IF YOU SUPPORT THE VIDETTE MISSION of providing a training laboratory for Illinois State University student journalists to learn and sharpen viable, valuable and marketable skills in all phases of print and digital media, please consider contributing to this most important cause. Thank you.

(0) entries

Sign the guestbook.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.